Martial Arts

Monday, July 30th, 2001 11:41 pm
robinturner: (Default)
[personal profile] robinturner
I'm writing this after spending a long and largely fruitless time searching through Livejournal for other martial aritsts. There are scores of people who have listed martial arts among their interests, but so far the only one I've found who actually writes anything about their martial arts practice are [ damn, why don't KDE applications paste to Gtk apps? ] Lain and Arya (actually, Arya only mentioned martial arts fleetingly, buy she writes in vi so she must be pretty hard).

So, not to continue the trend and disappoint fellow searchers, I though I ought to write about marital arts a bit myself. So here's my personal martial arts FAQ.

What martial arts do you do?
I've been doing t'ai chi for about fifteen years, and hapkido for the last year. I've also done a little aikido and wing chun, but that was ages ago.

Why do you do it?
Most people think martial artists have to be pretty nutty. I mean, we go and train several times a week and get tired, hurt and occasionally injured (though the same applies to squash, and nobody thinks squash players are nuts). The obvious answer is self-defence, but on it's own that probably wouldn't be enough. After all, there are self-defence courses which don't require spending years perfecting your art, or, if the laws of your country permit is, you can just get a gun. Moreover, I live in a place where my chances of being beaten up are minute compared to my chances of being run over (Turkish traffic makes Italy look pretty orderly) and there aren't that many ways to block an attack from a car (I did punch a taxi once, though, after its driver had shot a red light, screeched to a halt inches from me and blown his horn). On the other hand, feeling that you can defend yourself - and others - does wonders for your self-confidence, and not only in physically threatening situations. If you get thrown around like a rag doll three times a week, life's other tribulations seem much less threatening. So your boss/neighbour/relative is going to shout at you - at least you know that she/he isn't going to slam you down on the floor and put you in an armlock.

Health is another reason. If I didn't do martial arts, my lifestyle (smoking, drinking, caffeine, sleeplessness) would probably kill me.

Then there's the personal development side, which a lot of people wax lyrical (and nonsensical) about. I don't think I'm going to attain enlightenment by doing t'ai chi or hapkido (virtually nobody does), but I have this vague feeling that I'm somehow becoming more of the kind of person that I would like to be.

Can you really beat people up?
Don't know for sure, since I've never been in a serious fight (apart from a silly occasion years ago when a bunch of kids had a go at me in the park). I suppose I could if I really had to.

Can you take on five guys at once?
Almost certainly not. Give me time.

Is all that stuff in kung fu films realistic?
Of course not. Some of it they can't even do without special effects (see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon for an extreme example) and a lot of the rest looks good but isn't very practical. Real fights look messy; for example, you wouldn't normally attack someone by doing a backflip and kicking them in the face. It's nearly all based on real martial arts, though.

Isn't it just some kind of macho ego-trip?
No more than most sports. In fact, most martial artists I've known have been extremely un-macho. On the other hand, I have to admit that doing stuff that looks cool is part of the appeal. One of these days I'll learn to do that handspring and land on my feet instead of my bottom.

Ba-Kai!

Date: 2001-07-30 01:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] inignitable.livejournal.com
What martial arts do you do?
Tae-Kwon-Do.
for a few months in the 9th grade, I only do a couple of the power kicks now and only on inanimate objects that I'm pissed at.

Greco-roman, collegiate, and freestyle wrestling.
in high school, this was the most metally stimulating and physically worthwhile sport I tried. It's like chess.

Jiu-Jitsu (brazilian)
the only wrestling martial art I found when I went looking. The place I went to trained Navy Seals to have some more ways of killing people. I love it more than wrestling because it's not about pins or points, but about submission and resisting your opponents moves. It's very complex and intense.

Chi-Qong
this is more like a chinese form of yoga, but it is still a martial art. It has tons of mystical teachings. Similar to Tai Chi in it's stances and channeling of Chi. I actually came out of one session feeling like I was flying like a bird and hyperaware of my surroundings. Very rewarding.

Why do you do it?
I typically dislike sports. Martial Arts involve one person trying to out-think and out maneuver an opponent. Boxing requires smashing another's brains. Team sports require sponserships and fashion. Plus there are no other activities which require such an intense awareness of your entire xyz/360 sphere of being. I can wrestle someone blind and still be in control.

Can you really beat people up?
I have put someone on the ground cold without a bruise on em in a minute.

Can you take on five guys at once?
I don't know how to punch! I've gotten my butt kicked by 3 guys, 1 was choked out quick, the other two tag teamed my drunk ass. I could escape the grips of 5 people trying to subdue me though. I can also run fast.

Is all that stuff in kung fu films realistic?
I had a korean roomate who said that since civilan guns are nonexistant, they used melee weapons like swords and axes and other stupid shit. But a lot of martial arts movies are hollywood. Ninja Scroll is the exception!

Isn't it just some kind of macho ego-trip?
I have almost no ego, I could just sit back and let someone try to strangle me or break my limbs and I wouldn't be phased. I don't walk around like a badass wearing a Gi, and I don't try to pick fights, I've only gotten into one and that was my drunk ass walking into a car break in.

Re: Ba-Kai!

Date: 2001-07-31 08:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] solri.livejournal.com
Brazilian jiu-jitsu? That's a new one on me - the Brazilian art I've heard of is capoeira (which my wife intends to take up in September).

Qigong (ch'i gung etc.) is good, though I haven't been into it very intensely. Know what you mean about flying, though!

Re: Ba-Kai!

Date: 2001-07-31 01:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] inignitable.livejournal.com
hehe it's Brazilian alright. Theres a big old school down there somewhere run by the Gracie family. These guys put up a prize, of some big ass amount of money which I forget, for anyone who can beat them in an all out fight. Nobody's gotten it. The Gracies and their students enter and repeatedly win in the ultimate fight type competitions.

Korean jiu jitsu however is more like a regular martial art, with baton fighting and stuff mixed in with some of the grappling.

My old school taught Muai Tai(sp?) along with Jiu-jitsu as a powerful combination, talk about no-nonsense fighting.

Date: 2001-08-20 08:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] arya.livejournal.com
Q.- What martial arts do you do?
A.- I've been in martial arts since I was a little girl. I started with Judo, which I studied for two years. I then studied Aikido under Morita Masatoshi for a year, the moving on to kendo with heavy emphasis on the precepts of bushido. At high school age I started studying Kenpo Karate, which I studied for three years. Just a little over a year ago, I re-entered the world of martial arts with Shaolin Kung Fu. I've just reached my brown belt.

Q.- Why do you do it?
A.- Many reasons. Primarily for mental discipline. Partially to keep my body in shape. Overall, because I like myself better when I have a medium in which to push myself to my limits, and then push harder.

Q.- Can you really beat people up?
A.- It depends. I'm a fairly small person. Against a large slow person (you know... the brawler type), I can move in, get a few key hits in, and get back out. Against someone significantly stronger than me, with equal speed... probably not. Unless I've got a sword.

Q.- Can you take on five guys at once?
A.- If the guys in question are prepubescent, then it's a possibility. Otherwise, no.

Q.- Is all that stuff in kung fu films realistic?
A.- What? You mean Iron Monkey, Wing Chun, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Fist of Legend, The Enforcer, and Legend of Drunken Master weren't documentaries?

Q.- Isn't it just some kind of macho ego-trip?
A.- Depends on the person. There are a lot of cocky people who practice martial arts, who can get very physically good at it, without actually being martial artists. Attitude is the only thing that sets the martial artist apart from the skillful practitioner.

Profile

robinturner: (Default)
Robin Turner

June 2014

M T W T F S S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425 26272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags